The Eleventh Station: Jesus is Nailed to the Cross

The Eleventh Station: Jesus is Nailed to the Cross.

When they came to the place called the Skull, they crucified him and the criminals there, one on his right, the other on his left. Then Jesus said, “Father, forgive them, they know not what they do.”
Lk 23:33-34

But he was pierced for our sins,
    crushed for our iniquity.
He bore the punishment that makes us whole,
    by his wounds we were healed.
Is 53:5

Crucifixion

The moment has come. Jesus stretches out his hands and is nailed to the cross. The intense love of the Father and of us is what holds him fast. Has anyone ever loved more than this Man in this moment? In these next few days of the Triduum, I ask you to take up a crucifix and allow yourself to look at him: to really look. Meditate on the Five Sacred Wounds: the two in his hands, the two in his feet, and finally, the wound in his side from the moment his Heart was pierced and blood and water gushed forth as a fountain of mercy.

This Jesus, the one hanging there dying, is doing so for love of you. It isn’t a stretch or a fanciful idea, it’s the truth.

Dear Jesus,
The words you spoke from the cross
reveal your tremendous thirst
for the salvation of all your human creatures.
From your example
I begin to see what love really is,
and to become aware
of how often I have crucified love.
Your hands, raised to bless me,
I have nailed fast.
Your feet, which have sought me
when I was caught in the snares of sin,
I have pierced with an iron stake.
Your lips, which have so often called me
from the paths of wickedness,
I have blistered with dust.
Your words of forgiveness
I only now begin to hear.
And I begin to understand that
when I pierced your heart,
it was my own that I was slaying.
So now I return to the cross,
the chalice of all miseries,
the hope of nearly hopeless sinners.
I stand beneath your cross, O Lord,
so that I can learn that
it takes little time to become a saint,
but much love.
And I understand now,
that if I had never sinned,
I could never call you “Savior.”
Ven. Fulton J. Sheen

V: We adore You, O Christ, and we praise You. (Genuflect)

R: Because, by Your holy cross, You have redeemed the world. (Rise)

V: Consider Jesus, thrown down upon the cross, He stretched out His arms and offered to His eternal Father the sacrifice of His life for our salvation. They nailed His hands and feet, and then, raising the cross, left Him to die in anguish. (Kneel)

R: My despised Jesus,
nail my heart to the cross
that it may always remain there to love You and never leave You again.
I love You more than myself;
I am sorry for ever having offended You.
Never permit me to offend You again.
Grant that I may love You always; and then do with me as You will.

(Our Father, Hail Mary, Glory Be.)

References

St. Alphonsus Liguori’s Stations of the Cross

The Way of the Cross by Fulton J. Sheen

Leave a Reply

